Earth Day 2018: End Plastic Pollution

plastics, used on earth day

On Sunday, April 22nd we celebrate Earth Day. This Earth day 2018 is dedicated to providing the information and inspiration needed to fundamentally change human attitude and behaviour about plastics. From poisoning and injuring marine life to disrupting human hormones, from littering our beaches and landscapes to clogging our waste streams and landfills, the exponential growth of plastics is now threatening the survival of our planet. Together, we can act to change this situation and save our mother earth.  Here are some suggestions to take action to End Plastic Pollution on Earth Day and beyond

Pope Francis writes, “Do not be afraid to set your sights higher, to allow yourself to be loved and liberated by God. Do not be afraid to let yourself be guided by the Holy Spirit.” (34)
We invite you to join us in stepping out of our day-to-day lives to make the most of one extraordinary moment, protecting creation and all those who share it. This Earth Day, people around the world are coming together to weave creation care into worship and advocate for our common home. 400+ people have answered the call and are hosting events. Will you join us?

  • In Johannesburg, 12 parishes will hold events and send postcards to their diocese.

  • In Florida, the Handmaids of the Sacred Heart of Jesus will hold a Laudato Si’-themed Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament and plant a tree in the convent garden.

  • in Buenos Aires, Our Lady of the Valley Parish will hold a mass for youth and invite the parish to a workshop on care for our common home.

    HOST EARTH DAY EVENT

Caring for our common home serves the most vulnerable of our sisters and brothers. It’s a way to pass on the love we’ve been so graciously given.

By coming together as one, we build the community of hope. As Pope Francis says in his exhortation, “the saints are joyful and full of good humour. Though completely realistic, they radiate a positive and hopeful spirit.” (122)

PS:  Save the date for a multi-lingual prayer service for Earth DayApril 20 at 9:00 AM New York / 10:00 Buenos Aires / 14:00 UK / 16:00 Nairobi /21:00 Manila. Register here.

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Ufficio di GPIC OFM Cap.

The office for justice, peace and integrity of creation JPIC of the Capuchin order serves the whole order to promote work for the poor and marginalized and for actions saving our planet. Our principal mission for this sexennium is to Inform, Integrate and Inspire our friars and all people of good will towards working for JPIC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s